The first church in Nuijamaa was completed in 1887, when the area still belonged to the rural parish of Vyborg. This church burnt down in June 1941. The new church was the first church built in the post-war reconstruction period. Designed by the husband and wife architect team of Tarja Salmio-Toiviainen and Esko Toiviainen, the new church was consecrated in December 1948, with the belfry being finished a year later.
The altar sculpture in the church, the Descent from the Cross, is the work of sculptor Armas Tirronen. The church’s mechanical 12-stop organ was made by organ builder, Hans Heinrich, in 1970. The soldier’s graves memorial showcases how the congregation was split in half.